HomePractical AdviceTechnology and AppsYamaha reveals scholarship finalists

Yamaha reveals scholarship finalists

Yamaha has revealed the identities of the ten musicians from some of the UK’s leading music schools who will be competing at the finals of the annual Yamaha Music Foundation of Europe Scholarship awards in February.
Performing in front of a panel of world-class artists and tutors, four of the finalists will receive £2,000 each towards furthering their studies and classical music careers.
In addition to the cash boost, one of the finalists will be chosen by the manager of the Milton Keynes City Orchestra (MKCO) to perform Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.15 with the MKCO on May 28th this year.
At the event, which takes place on February 8th at the Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, the finalists will each perform for 30-minutes, in front of the judges.
The panel consists of a number of prominent music professors from schools around the country including the Royal Academy of Music, the Royal Scottish Academy of Music, Trinity Laban and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.
Now in its 21st year, the scholarship scheme has a long-established international reputation for showcasing as well as spotting the finest emerging talent in the country.
Past students have gone on to forge successful careers in the industry including pianists Sasha Grynuk and Eduard Kunz, saxophonist Amy Dickson and euphonium player David Childs.
Yamaha confirmed that this year’s competition was also tough, with a record number of entries being submitted to the instrument manufacturer from music students across the UK and Republic of Ireland.
Bill Martin, education liaison manager at Yamaha Music Europe GmbH (UK), stated: “We are looking forward to some outstanding performances in the finals. Each year the standards seem to get higher and we are delighted to be able to offer these scholarships in order that these immensely talented musicians can further their studies.”
The 2011 finalists are:

  • Miss Julia Chaplina – RCM
  • Ms Soo Jung Park – RAM
  • Mr Ji Liu – RAM
  • Mr Mihkel Poll – GSMAD
  • Mr Oles Klok – RSAMD
  • Mr Gen Li – RCM
  • Mr Qiaojing Dai – RAM
  • Mr Evgeny Genchev – RAM
  • Miss Jiaqi Li – RNCM
  • Miss Julia Hamos – RAM


  • Ms Soo Jung Ann – RIAM
  • Mr Alexander Bernstein – RIAM
  • Mr Conor Palliser – CSM

Must Read