HomeUncategorizedWelsh Music Guild annual awards winners announced

Welsh Music Guild annual awards winners announced

The annual Welsh Music Guild Awards have been announced and Three Welsh Airs (Easy Piano No.11)international pianist Llyr Williams is among those to have his achievements recognised, it has been reported.
Writing for the Western Mail, Karen Price revealed that Mr Williams, along with festival chairman Huw Tregelles Williams, will be among those to be honoured at the annual awards ceremony, which has recognised the “excellence and dedication” of Welsh musicians since 1955.
Mr Williams, alongside Owain Arwel Hughes, will receive the Sir Geraint Evans Award which, according to the Welsh Music Guild, is awarded for “a significant contribution to Welsh music in any one year or recent years”.
Mr Tregelles Williams is set to be honoured with a Life Membership of the Guild award along with Michael Salter.
Anthony Francis Moore will get the Joseph Parry Award, which was first handed out in 2003, 100 years after the composer’s death. The award is designed to honour “outstanding contributions made within the field of Margery Hergest Jones: Songs Of Wales (Welsh Edition)music education within Wales”.
The John Edwards Memorial Award, which is named after the Guild’s founder, is the “most prestigious non-competitive award given in Wales for services to the nation’s music” and will be given to Nigel G Seaman and Mark Thomas this year.
Other musicians set to pick up awards at the ceremony include Dr Alun Francis and A J Heward Rees who are to be given the Fellowship of the Welsh Music Guild and Andrew Matthews-Owen and Peter Reynolds, who will both be handed the Glanville Jones Memorial Award.

Must Read