HomeUncategorizedNominees for Classical Brits revealed

Nominees for Classical Brits revealed

With just over a month until the official ceremony, the full line-up of nominees for this year’s Classical Brit Awards has been announced.
The list of talented composers, conductors and musicians from around the world includes the first ever posthumous nomination in Classical Brit history for Australian conductor Sir Charles Mackerra.
Conductor and pianist Antonio Pappano and tenor Rolando Villazon lead the way with two nominations apiece. And three British artists are competing for the title of Female Artist of the Year – namely Alison Balsom, Mitsuko Uchida and Nicola Benedetti.
The event, one of the biggest in the classical music calendar, celebrates the best of British and international classical talent, takes place at the Royal Albert Hall on May 12th and will be hosted by Myleene Klass.
As per usual the Classic FM Album of the Year award will be decided by public vote, with ten albums in with a chance of claiming the prize.
Operatic quartet Il Divo are also set to be rewarded with an honorary accolade this year. The foursome will pick up an award naming them as Artists of the Decade, it has been revealed.
The BPI said that the accolade recognised “the massive impact that Il Divo have made worldwide on the ever-changing public face of classical music”.
Confirmed performances for the event include two-time Classic Brit award-winner, Alison Balsom, violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter, as well as American conductor and composer Eric Whitacre and the Eric Whitare Singers.
Katherine Jenkins, Russell Watson and the cast of Les Miserables will also be performing on the night.
See below for a complete list of all nominees.
Female Artist of the Year in association with PPL
Alison Balsom
Mitsuko Uchida
Nicola Benedetti
Male Artist of the Year
Antonio Pappano
Rolando Villazon
Sir Charles Mackerras
Newcomer Award in association with MasterCard
Alice Sara Ott
Vilde Frang
Composer of the Year
Arvo Part
Eric Whitacre
Karl Jenkins
Critics’ Award
Antonio Pappano
Jonas Kaufmann
Tasmin Little
Artist of the Decade In association with Raymond Weil
Il Divo
Classic FM Album of the Year
Aled’s Christmas Gift by Aled Jones
Moonlight serenade by Andre Rieu & Johann Strauss Orchestra
Voices – Chant from Avignon by the Benedictine Nuns of Notre-Dame
Carols & Christmas Songs by Bryn Terfel
Reach for the Skies by Central Band of the RAF
The Choirgirl Isabel by Choirgirl Isabel
The Guitarist by Craig Ogden
Noel by The Priests
Tenor by Rolando Villazon
La Voce by Russell Watson

Must Read