HomeUncategorizedNew Music 20x12 participants named

New Music 20×12 participants named

The participants talking part in the New Music 20×12 programme have Gorillaz: Demon Daysbeen announced.
In partnership with the BBC, Sound and Music and the organisers of the Olympic and Paralympic Games, PRS for Music has selected 20 performers to produce 12-minute pieces.
A wide range of music genres will be demonstrated in the 2012 Cultural Olympiad, with people able to look forward to everything from opera and jazz to bell-ringing and beatboxing.
New Music 20×12 will be delivered by the PRS for Music Foundation in partnership with the BBC, the organisers of the London Olympic and Paralympic Games and Sound and Music.
Included among those selected are Sally Beamish with Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, David Bruce with The Opera Group, Luke Carver Goss with Black Dyke Band and Aaron Cassidy with EXAUDI.
The line-up is completed by Richard Causton, Joe Cutler, Graham Fitkin, Gavin Higgins, Emily Howard, Julian Joseph, Liz Liew and Andy Leung, Anna Meredith, Conor Mitchell, Sheema Mukherjee, Aidan O’Rourke, Oliver Searle, Howard Skempton, Mark-Anthony Turnage, Michael Wolters and Jason Yarde.
Organisers of the event explained: “New Music 20×12 is a UK wide programme which consists of 20 outstanding new works, each lasting 12 minutes, which have been commissioned to feature centre stage of the London 2012 Cultural Olympiad.
“Each commission will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 and tour the UK, enabling as many people as possible to enjoy excellent new music as part of the celebrations of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.”
The schedule of events will also see a number of celebrities from the world of music and acting taking part with actress Cate Blanchett, Damon Albarn of Blue and Gorillaz fame and artist David Hockney among those announced earlier this week.

Must Read