HomePractical AdviceOrchestralJulia Wolfe and Michael Gordon premieres at the Southbank Centre

Julia Wolfe and Michael Gordon premieres at the Southbank Centre

London’s Southbank Centre’s annual music festival of innovation, art, technology and cross-arts experimentation, Ether, returns this autumn with two premieres from Julia Wolfe and Michael Gordon.
On Thursday October 11, Ether presents a night of music by Julia Wolfe. Regarded as one of New York’s most acclaimed composers, Wolfe (a co-founder of Bang on a Can with Michael Gordon) pushes performers and audiences to extremes. This programme includes the world premiere of her percussion concerto, riSE and fLY, as well as such works as LAD, a piece for 9 bagpipes.
The programme
Julia Wolfe: Cruel sister for string orchestra
Julia Wolfe: Tell me everything
Julia Wolfe: LAD for 9 bagpipes
Julia Wolfe: riSE and fLY (World Premiere)
The programme will be performed by conductor Keith Lockhart and the BBC Concert Orchestra with the Red Hot Chilli Pipers and percussion from Collin Currie.
Tickets for the programme are available online. Click here to book now.
Watch a video of Wolfe discussing American folk music, and the influence this had on her compositions, below:
[youtube id=”T20kMLHTBgw” width=”600″ height=”350″]
On Sunday October 14, as part of the same festival, they will be showing the UK premiere of Decasia, a cross-arts collaboration between Michael Gordon and Bill Morrison. The film was created from various pieces of decayed, archival footage, and cut to match the orchestral music of Gordon. Described as ‘wedding the hypnotic aura of minimalism to the detuned snarl of highbrow punk’ by Alex Ross, it will be performed by the Aurora Orchestra, conducted by Nicholas Collon.
Taking place at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, this UK premiere is preceded by a discussion of the work, as well as this year’s Ether Festival as a whole. This will also include a live performance of Industry by Michael Gordon, performed by Oliver Coates.
Tickets for Decasia are available to book now online.
Check out the extract below:
[youtube id=”jeEzb-0vf7A” width=”600″ height=”350″]
Julia Wolfe and Michael Gordon are published by Red Poppy Music, which is represented by the Music Sales Group of Companies.

Must Read