HomeInterviewsComposers10 years of Editions Musica Ferrum

10 years of Editions Musica Ferrum

I started Editions Musica Ferrum ten years ago and I had little chance since to look back on what I have been doing and what had become of it. Granted, this is what all businessmen should be doing, but I’m not such a man. Instead I’m a musician with a strong creative mind. As such, looking back 10 years ago, I had no idea what I was doing, or where I was going. Now, in 2022, I know what I’m doing, but I’ve yet to decide where I’m going exactly. You see, not only do I hold the position of CEO at a growing publishing house, but I’m also a piano teacher, a composer, a pianist, and a loving dad.

Nikolas Sideris

This is all very overwhelming, but I have so many friends to thank for all of this, as well as my partner, who has been by my side for the past 6 years and I hope to grow old alongside her.So what is our goal then? Our goal is simple: To publish as much beautiful music as we possibly can, without stopping (as much as possible!) to think whether it should follow any specific design (as demanded by big exam boards) , or the academic standards demanded by universities and… well… academia.
Instead we are here to give the voices of all those composers a place to stay, to strive, with collaborators, musicians themselves, alongside them who believe in their music, who will not only say that they support their music, but will do the utmost, by offering stellar engraving and editing services, and a superb printing quality.
We will try to create music scores that are worth holding, that are worth playing from, that are lovely to look at, or even put under a coffee table in your living room (this is a true quote, btw). Our vision has always been to offer a score that will combine different artforms. For example, the wonderful cover for “Fairyland in Treble” by Markus Krupa is a work of art in its own right. Similarly the combination of poetry and music in Barbara Arens’s “Rendezvous with Midnight” propelled the score to further heights.


However we are not stopping there. As time moves forward, we are also moving forward. We strongly believe in the connection of the performer with the printed music score. After all, a musician will play a physical instrument, so they need a similar book in front of them: A physically printed book.
Still, in the times we’re going through, it is clear that social media, computers and handheld devices play an important part in how someone spends their time. And this is coming from a person who uses their phone several hours per day and has been involved in the computer games industry for more than a decade!
We are developing several music apps that will help your students practise your aural skills, in addition to improving their score reading. We’re also working on websites that will help you sharpen your mind and challenge your concepts of music theory in a fun and  engaging way. And we already have a new, clear and easy-to-use website that features all of our scores, information about the composers we represent and much more.
Our partnership with Hal Leonard Europe is growing stronger as time passes by and we can only look forward to what the future will bring.
Join us, follow us on social media and see for yourself what the future holds.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MusicaFerrum/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MusicaFerrum

About Nikolas Sideris

Nikolas Sideris was born in Athens, Greece in 1977. He has been studying music since the age of 5, and holds a PhD in Composition from Royal Holloway, University of London. He received his Masters in Composition from the same university in 2005 with distinction and he also has a diploma in Piano with honours, and degrees in Harmony, Counterpoint and Fugue. His studies in the UK were funded by the National Scholarship Foundation of Greece (IKY).
Nikolas, as a pianist has performed in concerts all over Greece, as well as abroad in the USA, UK, Israel, and Syria.
His works have been performed all around the globe and range from small works for solo instruments, to large works for string orchestras. His work Piano Stories for piano, 4 hands won the 1st prize in the Second International Composition Competition “Artistes en Herbes” in Luxembourg in 2013. His work for string orchestra (6-6-5-5-2) Exeliksis won the first prize in the Royal Holloway Composition Competition in 2005 and was performed live the next year in Egham, UK. He’s received commissions by orchestras and soloists from around the world and his work The City Under Different Eyes for Solo Piano and Audio Manipulation was featured in an adaptive audio playback software system.
He is also active in the computer games industry, as a composer and sound designer and recently the game that he scored, Privates by Size Five Games won a BAFTA for best Educational – Secondary Game. He co-owns North by Sound, an Audio Production company based in Norway and Greece.
He is the owner of Editions Musica Ferrum LTD.

Bestselling Works by Editio Musica Ferrum

Check out the full catalogue on Musicroom here.

Must Read